Irish Society for Theatre Research New Scholars Prize 2018

Call for Submissions

ISTR runs an annual essay competition for New Scholars. There is no set theme for this competition; rather, candidates are encouraged to submit work drawing on their current research in the area of theatre, drama or performance. New research, or essays developed from papers presented at the preceding conference are welcome. The New Scholars Prize is awarded to the best essay, judged on originality, coherence and rigour.


Essays must be between 4 000 – 6 000 words (excluding bibliography) and should not be published or submitted for publication in advance of the award announcement. They will be judged anonymously; hence, the author’s name must not appear anywhere in the essay itself. All submissions must be accompanied by a cover sheet giving the name of the author, the essay title, and a biographical note of 250 words. The essays must be presented with attention to correct spelling and stylistics and referenced according to a standard norm (i.e. MLA or Chicago style).


Candidates should submit entries in English in MS Word format to the Convenor of the Prize Committee, Prof. Ondřej Pilný at ondrej.pilny(at)


Eligibility: A New Scholar is defined as a graduate student, post-doctoral researcher whose PhD has been completed less than three years ago, or a researcher without a PhD who has been in an academic post for less than three years. Membership of ISTR is not necessary to enter the competition, but prize winners will need to join ISTR to attend the conference where the results will be announced.


Deadline: 28 February 2018.


The judges for the New Scholars Prizes in 2018 are Prof. Ondřej Pilný, Charles University, Prague; Dr Miriam Haughton, NUI Galway; and Dr Aoife McGrath, Queen’s University Belfast. The best three essays will be shortlisted for the Prize, and the final Guest Adjudicator will select the winner(s). The name of the final adjudicator for 2018 will be announced shortly. Previous final adjudicators have included Prof. Marvin Carlson, Prof. Helen Burke, Prof. Lionel Pilkington, Prof. Chris Morash, Prof. Mária Kurdi, and Dr Cathy Leeney.


The prize will be awarded at the next ISTR conference at The University of Lincoln in June 2018. The winner(s) will be encouraged to attend the conference.