Irish University Review

The Irish University Review was founded in 1970 at University College Dublin as a journal of Irish literary criticism. Since then, it has become the leading global journal of Irish literary studies. It is affiliated to IASIL, and members receive the journal as a benefit of association membership.

In its early years, the journal published short literary works (poetry, short stories, one-act plays) as well as literary critical essays. Increasingly, however, the journal specialised in defining and expanding the scope of Irish literary studies. The journal has no prescriptive agenda about the subject or methodology of the literary criticism it publishes, other than insisting upon the highest standards of academic scholarship through a rigorous screening and peer review process. It welcomes submissions on all aspects of Irish literature in the English language, particularly submissions which expand the range of authors and texts to receive critical treatment, and which challenge the prevailing trends and assumptions of the field.


Dr Lucy Collins, University College Dublin

Assistant Editor

Dr Emma Radley, University College Dublin

Books Editor

Dr Julie Bates, Trinity College Dublin

Editorial Advisory Board

Dr Csilla Bertha, University of Debrecen
Professor Fran Brearton, Queen’s University Belfast
Professor Matthew Campbell, University of York
Professor Andrew Carpenter, University College Dublin
Professor Joe Cleary, Yale University
Professor Claire Connolly, University College Cork
Professor Elizabeth Butler Cullingford, University of Texas, Austin
Professor Nicholas Daly, University College Dublin
Professor Joan FitzPatrick Dean, University of Missouri-Kansas City
Professor Maud Ellmann, University of Chicago
Professor R.F. Foster, University of Oxford
Professor Colin Graham, Maynooth University
Professor Nicholas Grene, Trinity College Dublin
Professor Laura Izarra, University of São Paulo
Professor Margaret Kelleher, University College Dublin
Professor John Kerrigan, University of Cambridge
Professor Declan Kiberd, University of Notre Dame
Professor Richard Kirkland, King’s College London
Professor Heinz Kosok, University of Wuppertal
Professor David Lloyd, University of California, Riverside
Professor Ken’ichi Matsumura, Chuo University, Tokyo
Professor J.C.C. Mays, University College Dublin
Professor Anna McMullan, University of Reading
Professor Stephen Regan, University of Durham
Professor Shaun Richards, Staffordshire University
Professor Ian Campbell Ross, Trinity College Dublin
Professor Ann Saddlemyer, University of Toronto
Professor John Waters, New York University
Professor Clair Wills, Queen Mary, University of London

Editorial Board

Professor Nicholas Allen, University of Georgia
Dr Claire Bracken, Union College, New York
Professor John Brannigan, University College Dublin
Professor Mary Burke, University of Connecticut
Dr Catriona Clutterbuck, University College Dublin
Dr Lucy Collins, University College Dublin
Professor Marie-Louise Coolahan, National University of Ireland, Galway
Dr Luca Crispi, University College Dublin
Professor Alex Davis, University College Cork
Dr Paul Delaney, Trinity College Dublin
Professor Fionnuala Dillane, University College Dublin
Professor Eric Falci, University of California, Berkeley
Professor Anne Fogarty, University College Dublin
Dr Alan Gillis, Edinburgh University
Professor Derek Hand, Dublin City University
Professor Liam Harte, University of Manchester
Professor Moyra Haslett, Queen’s University Belfast
Professor Geraldine Higgins, Emory University
Dr Eamonn Hughes, Queen’s University Belfast
Dr Aaron Kelly, Edinburgh University
Dr Cathy Leeney, University College Dublin
Professor Joseph Lennon, Villanova University
Professor Patrick Lonergan, National University of Ireland, Galway
Dr Anne Mulhall, University College Dublin
Professor Christopher Murray, University College Dublin
Dr Tina O’Toole, University of Limerick
Professor Eve Patten, Trinity College Dublin
Professor Lance Pettitt, Birkbeck, University of London
Professor Ondřej Pilný, Charles University, Prague
Professor Emilie Pine, University College Dublin
Professor Paige Reynolds, College of the Holy Cross
Professor Hedwig Schwall, University of Leuven
Dr Eibhear Walshe, University College Cork
Professor Stephen Watt, Indiana University

Management Board

Dr Julie Bates (TCD); Professor John Brannigan (UCD); Dr Lucy Collins (UCD); Dr Deirdre Flynn (MIC/UL); Professor Anne Fogarty (UCD) (Chair); Professor Margaret Kelleher (UCD); Dr P.J. Mathews (UCD); Dr Naomi McAreavey (UCD); Dr Ailbhe McDaid (MIC/UL); Professor Gerardine Meaney (UCD); Dr Christina Morin (UL); Professor Emilie Pine (UCD)

IASIL members are entitled to a 30% discount on all Edinburgh University Press books and journals. Please visit to browse available titles. If you would like to take advantage of your book or journal discount, email