A. C. Elias Irish-American Research Travel Fellowship

ASECS’s A. C. Elias Irish-American Research Travel Fellowship, with a $2500 award, supports “documentary scholarship on Ireland in the period between the Treaty of Limerick (1691) and the Act of Union (1800), by enabling North American-based scholars to travel to Ireland and Irish-based scholars to travel to North America for furthering their research.” 

Original research on any aspect of 18C Ireland qualifies for consideration, but recipients must be members of ASECS or The Eighteenth-Century Ireland Society. Prize winners are chosen by an independent jury of three distinguished scholars from different disciplines. Each application goes through the hands of several readers, from within and outside the applicant’s field. The Irish-American Research Fellowship was established in 1993-1994 by the late Dr. A. C. Elias, Jr. (independent scholar, Philadelphia), and now bears his name.

 Applications consist of the coversheet downloaded at the ASECS travel-fellowship website, a short curriculum vitae (no more than 3 pp.), a short narrative description of the project (no more than 3 pp treating its contribution to the field and work done and to be done during the proposed research period), a one-page bibliography of related books and articles, a short budget, and two signed letters of recommendation submitted directly by the two supporters.

 These materials are due by 15 November 2016, with the candidate’s application sent ideally as an single file attached in Word or PDF, to the fellowships two trustees: 

Dr. Máire Kennedy, Dublin & Irish Collections, Dublin City Public Library & Archive (maire.kennedy@dublincity.ie; 138-144 Pearse Street / Dublin 2 / Ireland) and

Dr. James May of Penn State University (jem4@psu.edu ; PSU–DuBois Campus / College Place / DuBois, PA 15801).

Note: if the two letters of reference cannot be supplied as PDFs of signed letters, the original copies on paper should be mailed to one of the trustees.

 Last year the $2500 fellowship was awarded to Anne Wohlcke (History, California State Polytechnic University in Pomona) for her research in Belfast and Dublin on “Musical Work and Commemoration in the Eighteenth-Century British World.”