NEW BOOK: The Edinburgh Companion to W. B. Yeats and the Arts

edited by Charles I. Armstrong, Adrian Paterson and Tom Walker

Edinburgh University Press

Launch discount code is NEW30 for 30% off.

W. B. Yeats was not only a poet but also a restless collaborator, fostering countless artistic enterprises, from the Abbey Theatre to the Cuala Press, and pursued various inter-artistic media and forums for his work. From childhood co-creations with his siblings to the arresting combination of sound and movement in his final play, The Death of Cuchulain, his work also repeatedly addresses and incorporates music, dance, and the visual, material and theatrical arts with remarkable intensity. For him, literature was a vital thing that engaged, in one form or another, all the senses. This volume’s newly commissioned chapters analyse afresh such engagements. Bringing together scholars of literature, aesthetics, cultural history and specialists in drama, music, dance and the visual arts, they provide a broad range of historical, conceptual, and disciplinary approaches and perspectives.

Charles I. Armstrong is Professor of English Literature at the University of Agder. He is the author of three monographs, including Reframing Yeats: Genre, Allusion and History (2013). He is currently the president of the International Yeats Society and academic co-director of the Yeats International Summer School.

Adrian Paterson is Lecturer in English at the University of Galway. Curator of the multimedia exhibition Yeats & the West and a director at the Yeats Thoor Ballylee Society, he is President of Modernist Studies Ireland, co-editor of two E-rea special issues on modernism, and publishes widely on literature, music, art and technology from the eighteenth century to the present.

Tom Walker is an Associate Professor in Irish Writing at Trinity College Dublin. His publications on various aspects of Irish writing and modern poetry include Louis MacNeice and the Irish Poetry of his Time (2015), which was awarded the Robert Rhodes Prize for Literature by the American Conference for Irish Studies.