ACIS Update: Call for Papers 2014 Annual Meeting

The 2014 meeting of the American Conference of Irish Studies and the Canadian Association for Irish Studies/L’Association Canadienne d’Études Irlandaises will be held at University College Dublin on 11-14 June 2014.

The Conference theme is: Latitudes: Irish Studies in an international context. Banbha i gcéin

The 2014 joint ACIS-CAIS/ACEI conference at UCD is an opportunity for scholars from both sides of the Atlantic with a common interest in Ireland’s history, heritage, culture and society to meet and establish new intellectual networks.  The conference theme invites papers that set out to examine where Ireland fits into wider cultural, socio-economic and historical patterns.

Is Ireland unique – and if so, in what way?

Can Ireland be seen as pioneering cultural/historical trends, or as a laggard?

Some contributions may be explicitly comparative, but others may simply suggest similarities with or differences from other literary or historical movements.

We welcome papers on all aspects of Irish studies – history, social sciences, literature, language, culture, and the creative and performing arts.  Individual papers and panel submissions are welcome. No contributor should take part in more than two panels.  Fáilte roimh pháipéir in nGaeilge. We also wish to encourage presentations in non-traditional formats – posters, exhibits and performances.

Proposals for individual papers should be 250-300 words in length plus a brief 50 word bio.

Panel proposals should give a single statement – 500 words maximum – setting out the rationale for this panel, and identifying the contributions of each speaker, with a brief 50 word bio for each.
We promise a lively programme of papers, receptions, readings, film screenings and small-group workshops in Dublin’s libraries and archives which will showcase new print, manuscript and audio-visual collections.
The deadline for submissions is Monday 11 November.  Please email proposals and any queries to

The ACIS-CAIS/ACEI 2014 Conference Committee:  Mary E. Daly, Marc Caball, Máire NÍ Annracháin, Anthony Roche.