Irish Theatrical Diaspora Conference–10th Annual


Irish Drama, the Guthrie and American Theatre The Tenth Annual Irish Theatrical Diaspora Conference Guthrie Theater, Minneapolis and University of St Thomas, St Paul.

20-21 September 2013

The tenth annual Irish Theatrical Diaspora conference takes place at the Guthrie Theater and University of St Thomas this September. This event will bring together leading scholars and practitioners to discuss the changing place of Irish drama on US stages, with special emphasis on the links between Ireland and the Guthrie Theater, which is this year celebrating its fiftieth anniversary.

The two-day conference will include a public interview with Joe Dowling, the current Artistic Director of the Guthrie, keynote lectures by John Harrington and José Lanters, a lecture by Christopher Fitz-Simon on Tyrone Guthrie, and papers on Brian Friel, Thomas Kilroy, the Abbey Theatre, and more. Confirmed speakers include David Clare, Nicholas Grene, Helen Lojek, Patrick Lonergan, Kay Martinovich, Patrick O’Donnell, Anthony Roche, Shelley Troupe, and Ian R. Walsh.

The conference coincides with the US premiere of Brian Friel’s celebrated adaptation of Uncle Vanya, which opens on 27 September.


The registration fee for the conference is $75. A special student rate of $30 will be available upon production of a valid student ID.

Delegates who wish to register should send their name, email address and institutional affiliation to

Registration fees are payable at the conference venue.


The conference takes place at the Guthrie Theater and at University of St Thomas. Full details may be found here:



Delegates will need to make their own arrangement in relation to accommodation.


The following links may also be helpful Crowne Plaza Minneapolis Northstar : Marquette Hotel

Radisson Plaza

Minneapolis Marriott City Center :



A full timetable will be available online from 1 June on


Organising Committee

The conference organising committee is Anthony Roche (Chair), Nicholas Grene, Patrick Lonergan, Patrick O’Donnell, Jim Rogers.