barque du saint

The International Association for the Study of Irish Literatures

IASIL Sydney, Home-Page

List of Accepted Papers

Plenary Speakers

Contact the Organiser

Arriving at Australia

Conference Venue



Pre and Post-Conference Tour


Contact the Organiser

First Call for Papers, September 2005


IASIL Conferences, 1970-2010

IASIL Homepage



IASIL 2006 - "Those images that yet/ Fresh images beget" (W.B. Yeats 'Byzantium') University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia
Thursday 20 July to Sunday 23 July 2006
  IASIL Sydney - Thursday 20 July to Sunday 23 July 2006 inclusive


Professor Denis Donoghue will deliver the inaugural Derry Jeffares memorial lecture. He is University Professor at New York University, where he holds the Henry James Chair of English and American Letters. The author of some 25 books and numerous articles and reviews he has written widely on Irish, English and American literature. His most recent book is The American Classics (March 2006).

Made an Officer of the Order of Australia in 1983, and declared an Australian National Living Treasure in 1997, Thomas Keneally is Australia’s most prolific and internationally renowned novelist. His prose works include: The Place at Whitton (1964), The Fear (1965), Bring Larks and Heroes (1967), Three Cheers for the Paraclete (1968), The Survivor (1969), A Dutiful Daughter (1971), The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith (1972), Blood Red, Sister Rose (1974), Gossip from the Forest (1975), Moses the Lawgiver (1975), Season in Purgatory (1976), A Victim of the Aurora (1977), The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith (1978), Passenger (1979), Confederates (1979), The Cut-Rate Kingdom (1980), Schindler’s Ark (1982), A Family Madness (1985), The Playmaker (1987), Act of Grace (1988), Towards Asmara (1989),Chief of Staff (1991), Flying Hero Class (1991), A Woman of the Inner Sea (1992), Our Republic (1993), Jacko (1993), Homebush Boy: A Memoir (1995), A River Town (1995), Bettany's Book (2000), An Angel in Australia (2002), The Tyrant’s Novel (2003), and The Commonwealth of Thieves (2005). He has also written biographies of Lincoln (2003), General Dan Sickles (2002), and the rugby player Des Hasler (1993). He has won numerous awards including the Booker Prize for Schindler’s Ark, while the film based on the novel has won both a Golden Globe and an Academy Award. He is probably best known to members of IASIL for Now and in Time to Be: Ireland and the Irish (1992), and The Great Shame: A Story of the Irish in the Old World and the New (1998).

The winner of numerous prestigious literary awards, David Malouf is best known for his novels and novellas including, Johnno (1975), An Imaginary Life (1978), Fly Away Peter (1982), Harland’s Half-Acre (1989), The Great World (1990), Remembering Babylon (1993), and The Conversations at Curlow Creek (1996). He has delivered the Boyer lectures, published collections of short stories, volumes of autobiography and poetry, written plays and opera libretti, and edited literary anthologies. Members of IASIL will recall that Remembering Babylon won the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. The novel that he wrote next, The Conversations at Curlow Creek, explores issues of nature and nurture, justice and injustice, reason and unreason, free-will and fate, and love and compassion that arise from the conversations between Adair, an Irish officer of police, and an illiterate ex-convict Irish bushranger, Carney, who is sentenced to be hanged.

Internationally acknowledged as Australia’s leading poet, Les Murray’s volumes of poetry include: The llex Tree(with Geoffrey Lehmann) (1965), The Weatherboard Cathedral (1969), Poems Against Economics (1972), Lunch & Counter Lunch (1974), Selected Poems: The Vernacular Republic (1976), Creeper Habit (1976), Ethnic Radio (1977), The Boys Who Stole The Funeral (1979), Equanimities (1982), The People's Otherworld (1983), Selected Poems (1986), The Daylight Moon (1987), The Gravy in Images (1988), The Idyll Wheel: Cycle of a Year at Bunyah, NSW, April 1986 - April 1987 (1989), Dog Fox Field (1990), Collected Poems (1991), Translations From the Natural World (1992), Collected Poems (1994), Subhuman Redneck Poems (1996), Fredy Neptune: A Novel in Verse (1998), Collected Poems (1998), Anthology (1998), Conscious & Verbal (1999), New Selected Poems (1999), Learning Human: Selected Poems (2000), Learning Human: New Selected Poems (2001), Poems the Size of Photographs (2002), The Full Dress: An Encounter with the National Gallery of Australia (2002), New Collected Poems (2002), Learning Human: New Selected Poems (2003), and The Biplane Houses (2006).

Les Murray has also published several volumes of literary criticism and several volumes of prose. He has won numerous awards for his poetry including The Grace Leven Prize, The Petrarch Prize, the T.S. Eliot Award, and The Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry. Peter Alexander, who is a Professor of English at UNSW, has written the authorized biography, Les Murray: A Life in Progress (OUP: 2000).

Page Updated Thursday, 23 March, 2006
©2006 IASIL